Computer Museum in Bozeman Montana


I am currently in Bozeman, Montana, and I just took a tour of the “Museum of Modern Human Progress,” formerly known as the American Computer Museum. I was with one of my sons, and the museum provided us a great opportunity to view the history of information and computing. One interesting item that was not highlighted much is their copy of the Antikythera mechanism, which was an early Greek computer. I have always found that device and its history interesting.

It was nice seeing some of the old computer hardware I worked on as a “wee lad.” However, it does make me feel a tad old.

About mathscinotes

I am an engineer who encounters interesting math and science problems almost every day. I am not talking about BIG math here. These are everyday problems where a little bit of math really goes a long way. I thought I would write some of them down and see if others also found them interesting.
This entry was posted in History of Science and Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Computer Museum in Bozeman Montana

  1. Michael Dunn says:

    Coincidence – I just wrote about museums, including that one, a few days ago on ScopeJunction!

  2. Pingback: Computer Museum in Bozeman Montana – Math Encounters Blog | Bozeman, MT

  3. Pingback: The Ultimate Lego-Based Analog Computer | Math Encounters Blog

  4. Pingback: The Ultimate Lego-Based Analog Computer | Math Encounters Blog

Leave a comment