Handling “Hot” Electronics Requires Gloves


I have had a number of equipment installers contact me this summer and express concerns about the temperature of the outdoor electronics that they are handling. In some cases, the electronics is too hot to hold. In every case, the temperatures of the products has been within specifications. I tell installers that a circuit card can be as hot as 95  °C and the components on it can be even hotter. Figure 1 illustrates the conditions that we design for. Note that the telecommunications industry often designs to Telcordia specifications, which are the basis for the temperature numbers that we use.

Figure 1: Telecommunications Outdoor Electronics Temperature Stackup.

Figure 1: Telecommunications Outdoor Electronics Temperature Stackup.

Figure 2 shows how hot something like this feels on human skin by showing burn time versus temperature (Source: “The Burn Wound”, Chapter 1, Barret and Dziewulski).

Figure 2:Skin surface temperature needed to produce full thickness damage versus time.

Figure 2:Skin surface temperature needed to produce full thickness damage versus time.

So touching something that is at a temperature of 95 °C will cause a burn very quickly. Personally, I always wear gloves.

About mathscinotes

I am an engineer who encounters interesting math and science problems almost every day. I am not talking about BIG math here. These are everyday problems where a little bit of math really goes a long way. I thought I would write some of them down and see if others also found them interesting.
This entry was posted in Electronics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Handling “Hot” Electronics Requires Gloves

  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, superb site!

Leave a comment